“My first modeling contract was in Japan when I was 13,” says model, photographer and TV and radio personality Brandise Danesewich (@antimodel). “I’m Canadian, but I spent the majority of my youth in Japan, Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Southeast Asia before moving to New York, and later settling in Los Angeles. I was generally the black sheep, punk outcast among my modeling peers, so I quickly discovered music and photography as a refuge. I realized I could intimately access all my favorite worlds with a camera.
My work flow is a little unconventional, but luckily it works for me and the way I see the world. I grew up in the last generation before the smartphone era, so I make prints and often re-photograph the prints, or even photograph my monitor or the back of my camera, adding in window light, artificial light sources, reflections, animate and inanimate objects.
A few years ago, I left LA for Palm Springs, California. I have always had an undeniable magnetic attraction to the desert — it’s a magical place. I spend more time on the road than at home and use the desert as a basecamp. I was born with sand in my veins. The desert is a great place to both come back to and to leave.” #WhereIComeFrom
Photo by @antimodel #Regram #ViralInNature http://vnat.ca/1pSvANW
Leave a Reply

